aam

Frequency Measurement

Hello everybody,

I would like to measure the speed rotation of a motor. For this, i use a photodiode. The signal waveform is given by the picture.

I want to measure this signal frequency using the MSP430F5529 and Energia and display it in the serial monitor.

I know i have to use the Timer A in Capture/Compare mode but I don't know how. I saw a lot of codes but they use CCS and the MSP430g2553 and it is not clear for me.

How can I proceed to measure the frequency of my signal ? The frequency can vary from 50Hz to 500Hz.

Thank you for your help.

post-49371-0-59438300-1473957190_thumb.jpg

Hi @@aam,

A while back I posted some Energia projects that were to be used as lessons for High School students.  You can find them here:  http://forum.43oh.com/topic/8766-energia-sensor-code-and-library-examples/

Keep in mind that these were written by a self taught hobbyist (me) for Energia beginners so expect simple concepts and demonstrations only.  In any event, there is one that uses a photoelectric sensor as a tachometer that you might want to look at:  https://github.com/fmilburn3/Tachometer_CNY70

Also, see CounterLib which is well written and documented and counts pulses.  It uses timers, is written for Energia, but would be easy to use in CCS also.

Although you don't mention the resolution, the update rate, your experience level, and your application, you may want to consider this....

For low frequencies such as yours, you can measure the period between rising edges of the signal, then calculate it's reciprocal.

Many commercial frequency counters will do this. You'll get better resolution and faster update rate. And averaging is easier, to remove noise. Just mentioning this in the spirit of presenting an alternative.

Due to other activities at the moment, I don't have time to code an example, but it would go something like this, in Energia: