Sign in to follow this  
NurseBob

Seeking advice - MSP430F5529 C/C++ vs Energia

I've been lurking here for awhile... I am a noob to Energia, but have more than a little experience designing and writing interrupt-driven C code for msp430f2013, as well as some time spent with the value line devices.
I am working on a personal project with the F5529, connecting to a GPS (the adafruit ultimate BOB), an Iridium 9602 Sat-Comm device (sparkfun RockBlock), and a cap touch TFT LCD (have worked with both the adafruit 2.8" BOB and a www.buydisplay.com version of same). The project is a DIY short-burst-data comm device to let my wife know I've not been eaten by a bear on an upcoming 250 mile hike on the John Muir Trail. Oh, and I'm aware that there are commercial devices available ($600 - $1200 plus subscription fees).
I chose the F5529, in part, for the dual hardware UARTs, one connected to the GPS @9600 and the other to the 9602 @19200. The LCD uses SPI for screen management and I2C for the cap-touch interface. While the system is up and running, the different devices will not be running concurrently. I had been thinking of a LPM3 timer interrupt-based system that would capture and communicate position data on an hourly basis during the day, and that I could put into LPM4 at night to conserve battery.  The LCD merely provides a UI for mostly menu-driven messages and system-state options, but may include a free text option to send a special message, or read a message from my wife.

In C, I have successfully connected to all three devices using both UARTs for the two async devices with both a F5529 launchpad, and also an MSP-FET430U80+F5529. I've been intrigued by Energia as a means to code my project a little more quickly with "trusted" libraries.  But on closer inspection, I see that the basic construct for Energia is one focused on Arduino compatibility and not necessarily low power interrupt-driven designs.