Sign in to follow this  
MacMB

Energia 0101E0017 cannot compile for MSP432 on Ubuntu 14.04

Hi everyone. I am new to Energia, but I have used the Arduino IDE a bit. I am trying to use Energia to work with the MSP432 launchpads I just bought on sale,

My environment is Ubuntu 14.04.3 LTS (trusty). I just downloaded the latest version of Energia from energia.nl (0101E0017). I ensured I have permission to access the serial ports.

The only changes I've made is to select the tools -> serial port (when i had the MSP432 launchpad connected) and to select the tools -> board. I chose to run the example 'blink' code. When the MSP432 is selected I receive an error. When I chose a 430 board it compiled without error.

The error with the MSP432 is 

Cannot run program "make" (in directory "/home/username/energia-0101E0017/hardware/common"): error=2, No such file or directory

I verified the directory exists, and there is a Makefile in there (but no make file). The Makefile has content (it seems like it is written correctly but I'm not a Makefile expert). I copied the Makefile to make, just in case. but I still get an error.

I saw where MSP432 users on windows were having issues due to spaces in directory names, but I don't have any spaces (can you in linix?).

Any suggestions? I would hate to have to pull out my old windows laptop just to work on the MSP432. I'm using Energia because my very reluctant kids (15 yo and 12 yo) have agreed to make a mini project on the MSP432s I picked up. I don't want to try to get them to learn CCS :)

Thanks for any assistance. I do appreciate it.

First of all, welcome to the forum and the world of TI launchpads.

I am not a Linux expert by any stretch of the imagination but I have had difficulty with some applications due to permissions.  Have you tried running the program as SUDO?