Sign in to follow this  
Magnum

Sleep mode

I am using LauncPad MSP430G2 revision 1.5, MSP430G2553, Grove base boosterpack, Energia 0016, Windows 7 64-bit

My project will need to start in the sleep mode. When I press the button P1.3, it will display on the LCD. And after 10sec, it will go back to sleep mode. Can somebody help me with the coding. 

PS : I am new to Energia and have never touched programming before. Sorry if i didnt make it clear enough. 

Hi @@Magnum,

It sounds like you need to go through some of the examples and training  that is available.  I suggest something like this to get started:

1) Get your button working - there is an example in Energia

2) Add the LCD and get it working - again there are examples in Energia and in 43oh for using various LCDs

3) Learn about external interrupts at energia.nu and get them working with the button

EDIT:  If you have already made it this far then please paste your code

Good luck with your project!

void setup()
{
pinMode(P1_3,INPUT_PULLUP); //Enable inputs on P1_3 (onboard button)
pinMode(P1_0,OUTPUT); //Enable output on P1_0 (onboard red LED)
attachInterrupt(P1_3,Interrupt, FALLING); //attach our interrupt routine to P1_3
}

void loop()
{
LPM4; //whenever the loop runs, switch back into LPM4
//we could put code here that would run after every Interrupt - see warning in text.
}

void Interrupt(void) //Our interrupt routine
{
digitalWrite(P1_0,!digitalRead(P1_0)); //toggle the red LED
};

Hi @@Fmilburn, sorry to trouble you. 

Do you happen to know about low power mode. I need to make use of LPM3 and LPM0 in my project instead of the external interrupts. ( I already understand the external interupts in the energia.nu )

I found the above quote at another post. But i would like to switch back to LPM3 instead of LPM4 , and also want it to wake up to LPM0 so that it can execute a command and then back to LPM3.

Sorry if it is too messy. 

Hi @@Magnum