43oh

Need help with MSP430 Project...

I am looking for someone who is proficient with the MSP430 to help me with a project. I am completely new to this MCU and would like help with both the hardware design and software.

The project is to read telemetry data coming off a PX4 autopilot and send it to a MySql server.

By default, the PX4 auto pilot is streaming messages on a serial port here: https://pixhawk.org/dev/companion_link?s[]=telem2#streaming_messages.Most people use this to connect a companion computer (Raspberry Pi, etc.). But I want to read the serial stream into a MSP430 instead which will then forward it to my internet database server if the server is accessible, otherwise it will write it to flash until the server is available.

So communication would look like this: AUTOPILOT -> MSP430 -> FLASH -> MySQL Server.

No parsing of the data is required just a simple relay (that is why I do not want to do this with a SBC which is overkill)

To access the internet server the MSP340 would need to interface to a cellular modem.

I want the whole thing to be fabricated on a small board, no USB dongles or any of that.

The project would basically do the same thing as this: http://www.4gmetry.com/but be much more lightweight and unlike that solution that connects to a ground station, it would store the data stream to a MySQL server.

Anyone interested in this? If you are or know someone who is then let me know. Thanks.

Matt Johnson

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Another thought is you might consider a FRAM based MSP430 so you're not wearing out FLASH.

Some GSM projects that may help, in this forum. They use the MSP430. http://forum.43oh.com/topic/4713-gsm-remote-controlled-car-heater/ http://forum.43oh.com/topic/2310-ws6318-gsm-booster-pack/ htt