Tamarinen

Porting mspgcc code to msp430-gcc-opensource

Hi,

I'm trying to port existing code, written for mspgcc and IAR, to the new TI toolchain. There are, as I understand it, a few vital differences in how you should write your code for the two chains. I've tried to find a summary of the differences, and how one should proceed to convert code from the old to the new chains, but I've failed to find very much on the subject. Is there any such tutorial or guide available?

It's pretty risk-free to assume that I'm a beginner when it comes to MSP430 and related tools.

Hi,

I'm trying to port existing code, written for mspgcc and IAR, to the new TI toolchain. There are, as I understand it, a few vital differences in how you should write your code for the two chains. I've tried to find a summary of the differences, and how one should proceed to convert code from the old to the new chains, but I've failed to find very much on the subject. Is there any such tutorial or guide available?

Hi for reference you can find here the old toolchain reported as obsolete:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/mspgcc/

And here the reference to the new TI supported MSP430-GCC, some reference are present for calling difference, if this is enough otherwise ask again for specific.

http://www.ti.com/tool/msp430-gcc-opensource

It's pretty risk-free to assume that I'm a beginner when it comes to MSP430 and related tools.

I was, am, shall be again beginner when tools change and need adapt to changes, in the past I used IAR limited, full licence and Quadravox, the best I used was Qvox for code quality and support, now I am using CCS and code written for IAR seems compile quite fine with some refinement on interrupt management.

I am not so proficient on GCC version but again change are on interrupt declaration.