43oh

Standalone Nightmare

As many nightmares evolve, I find myself alone in a state of terror with my MSPG452 project.

I look to you guys for some comfort :o

I have a basic input/output project that functions perfectly on the stock launchpad...

The code is not the issue, the problem lies in my lack of EE experience...

I have been working at this for about 6 months (learning and getting favors from my friend the programmer) :

https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0B0GvwGrWV7TpMmYxZTJiMWYtODFhYy00MjBhLTg0ZmMtMjEzYTk0OTQzZDk2&hl=en_US&authkey=CKuFiLsL

I picked up some expensive FR4, they are pretty and have "cuttable" connections between all the positions. A little bit of a pain at first, but I can appreciate the idea- less jumpers and solder. You need a brand new utility blade for starters, and a good layout in mind. You can see an issue with the couple of wires on the face.

https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0B0GvwGrWV7TpMmNjZTM4M2ItYzMzMy00ZDQwLTgxODUtZmViNWY2ZmNiMTU0&hl=en_US&authkey=CIXgxdsG

this progressed to a much prettier prototype (took about 2 hours):

https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0B0GvwGrWV7TpYjVmNmM3NzMtZGFmOC00NzMzLTk3OGQtNjI3YmUwNTM3YTUx&hl=en_US&authkey=CL3Yj4QD

It was heartbreaking when it did not work, nothing happened. Then Ken Finnegan alerted me somewhere in his many posts that the standalones need to have the reset taken up with a resistor or it will continually reset. Thanks Ken (great name by the way). Done, and i had some flashers.

Unfortunately, the inputs and the outputs are not working like on the LP. I have traced all my connections, and checked for shorts and gaps, and found nothing. I am able to hardwire the inputs, using a jumper, a switch, or my finger, but for some reason, the P1.0 input will not trip the interrupt now- but all the others work (P1.1-P1.3). Your comments are welcome, please!