43oh

I'm new to Microcontrollers and the Launchpad and I'm trying to implement simple programs that receive and send input and output from OUTSIDE the Launchpad, but I'm having trouble doing so. Currently, I'm testing receiving input by making the onboard red LED turn on when the microcontroller receives input on a specified pin (in this case, P1.5). But with both the microntrollers that come with the Launchpad (MSP430G2231 and MSP430G2211), whenever I wire an input to P1.5 the red LED turns on, even touching a wire to the pin without power to it turns on the LED. The code I have written works when taking input on P1.3 (Onboard Switch 2) and is responsive, but not on P1.5. Sometimes the red LED is initially on and stays on. I have looked at circuit diagrams of taking input from sources other than onboard switches, but I'm not completely sure on how to wire my circuits to the board. So I have a couple questions:

How do you properly wire off-board inputs and outputs with an external 3V power source?

What is proper and efficient code for detecting input?

And is it possible the Launchpad or the Microcontrollers are faulty?

Code:

#include 

#define OUPUT_1 BIT4 // output on P1.4
#define OUTPUT_0 BIT0 //Red LED
#define SENSOR_1 BIT5

void main(void)
{
WDTCTL = WDTPW + WDTHOLD; //Stops watchdog timer

P1DIR &= ~SENSOR_1;
P1DIR |= OUTPUT_0;
P1OUT = 0;

while(1)
{
	if((P1IN & SENSOR_1) != 0){
		P1OUT &= ~(OUTPUT_0);
	}
	else
	{
		P1OUT |= OUTPUT_0;
	}
}
}

Have you tried using the built in resistors to pull up or pull down the pin? (P1REN) Your pin may be floating and could cause some weird issues. And no your chip is not likely faulty.

and try this code example from TI

//******************************************************************************
//  MSP430F20xx Demo - Poll P1 With Software with Internal Pull-up

//  M. Buccini / L. Westlund
//  Texas Instruments Inc.
//  September 2005
//  Built with CCE Version: 3.2.0 and IAR Embedded Workbench Version: 3.40A