rampadc

Instaspin-BLDC with add-on magnetic encoder and some Q's

Hi, I have brushless motor with no hall sensors but I would like to attach a magnet to the shaft and use a magnetic encoder from AMS to control the position of the rotor shaft. Is it possible to do this using Instaspin-BLDC? Would attaching an encoder turns this into a sensored application and would using Instaspin helpful in that case? I'm aware of Instaspin-FOC and Instaspin-MOTION (I have an Instaspin-FOC Launchpad that I haven't touched yet) but the ICs are fairly expensive.

I'm fairly new to BLDC motor control in general, it would be very helpful if I can get some answers to these questions:

- Does C2000 Instaspin only work with TI's DRV-XXXX motor control ICs?

- Are there any other microcontrollers that supports BLDC driving out of the box like the Instaspin line? I've read some application notes from Microchip and Atmel regarding using their 8-bit microcontrollers to drive BLDC motors but it seems to be quite complicated, sensored and sensorless alike.

- Just for clarification, without _F, _M, the remaining C2000 MCUs such as TMS320F28027DAS supports Instaspin-BLDC right?

Thank you for your help.

Yes, it possible to incorporate position data from an encoder to your control system.  I believe this is possible with any of the InstaSPIN solutions (BLDC, FOC, and Motion), but I'm not a motor control expert.

I'm fairly new to BLDC motor control in general, it would be very helpful if I can get some answers to these questions:

- Does C2000 Instaspin only work with TI's DRV-XXXX motor control ICs?

- Are there any other microcontrollers that supports BLDC driving out of the box like the Instaspin line? I've read some application notes from Microchip and Atmel regarding using their 8-bit microcontrollers to drive BLDC motors but it seems to be quite complicated, sensored and sensorless alike.