Toby

Ramp DAC on F28027

Hi Folks

The documentation for the comparator block on the F28027 (SPRUGE5) mentions the ability to have the reference DAC produce a ramp. It goes on to describe several registers that are used to set this up, DACCTL for example.

However I have not been able to find any other mention of this ability or these registers in any other (device-relevant) document or include file.

Is this feature actually implemented? Which peripheral header file should include the relevant register structure? or what register structure are they under?

Thanks

Note: I have posted a question to the same effect on the e2e forums but no-one answered... usually not a good sign!

Toby,

I'm not an expert on the comparators, but I'll do my best to answer your question.

I too have been unable to find these registers in the normal header file structures, but I was able to find the DACVAL register in the comparator structures.  I believe what is going on here is that the ramp generator was a feature that was not documented for a long while.  Someone eventually got time to test and document this feature and it was probably added to the device after the device was released.  While it was added in the documentation, the necessary software updates probably got lost and hence you don't see the register in the header files.

That said, the ramp generator is included in the new comparator drivers which are currently in controlSUITE.  You'll see its defined in f2802x_common/include/comp.h, but there are no driver APIs to use it.  You ought to be able to easily write some drivers for yourself in comp.c that access these registers as you please.

I'll follow up on this and ensure this is true and if so file a bug to get this fixed.  Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

Hi Trey,

Thanks a mill for getting back so quick!