fulltimenoob

problem compiling example application

I've compiled the demo application qs-rgb, but it doesn't work on my launchpad.

To compile, I used "make", the compiler is arm-none-eabi-gcc. It compiles without problems, but when I flash the launchpad (using lm4flash), the LEDs stay off. When I flash the precompiled binary, everything is working as expected.

Does anyone have an idea why the self-compiled binary doesn't work? I am completely new to C and microcontrollers, having only programmed in higher languages so far.

Hello,

Based on the post I assume you are using Linux for the developments.

Did you try building the project using Code Composer Studio?

Are there any errors/warnings in your compilations? What is the command you ran to flash the binary to the firmware? 

Yes, I am using Linux.

I did not try Code Composer Studio.

The compilation works without errors or warnings. To flash the binary, I use

"lm4flash qs-rgb.bin"

The blinky and project0 examples worked well after compiling myself (using "make") and flashing to the launchpad. I also modified one of the examples to flash the LED in a specific color when holding one of the buttons, and it works well for the left button, but the right one doesn't do anything.

I assume it is a compilation problem, but have no idea why.

I hope you are compiling the application from "StellarisWare\boards\ek-lm4f120xl\blinky" directory. 

The blinky and project0 examples worked well after compiling myself (using "make") and flashing to the launchpad. I also modified one of the examples to flash the LED in a specific color when holding one of the buttons, and it works well for the left button, but the right one doesn't do anything.
I assume it is a compilation problem, but have no idea why.

I believe the button issue is related to some error in your configuration. Cannot say without checking the code. 

Just one thing I observed in the qs-rgb example 'Makefile'.

There is a line,