43oh

I'm just getting started with my Stellaris LP, and am porting my msp430 library for my ILI9341 based display over to the Stellaris. I got it working, but am encountering performance issues.  I'm using Energia 12.

The ILI9341 is very demanding on the SPI bus. To test the performance I created a simple benchmark that involved filling the display a couple of times.  On the MSP430, I was able to get good performance by putting SPI.setClockDivider(1) after SPI.begin().  With this setting, the MSP430F5529 at 25MHz was able to complete my benchmark in 1608mS.

Then I ported it to the Stellaris, and instead of getting the faster performance I was expecting, the same benchmark took 73682 mS or about 45 times slower!  I discovered in the SPI library, that instead of getting the default speed of 4MHz by starting with 16MHz and then dividing by 4, the SPI library sets the SPI speed to 8MHz. So setting the divisor to 1, should make it still at 8MHz, which I'd expect to be slower than the MSP430, but not by as much as I'm seeing.  So then I took out the call to setClockDivider and it sped up substantially. It now ran my benchmark in 1926mS, still slower than the MSP430, but now with acceptable performance.  I then tried it with setClockDivider(2) and this was the big surprise, it was now actually faster than without a divider set! But it was still slower than the MSP430.

I tried changing the line ROM_SSIConfigSetExpClk in the SPI library to use a 16MHz clock instead of 8MHz, and this improved the performance to the point where it was now slightly faster than the MSP430, and once again the big surprise was that setting a divider of 2 was quicker than having no divider. Once again though, setting a divider of 1 slows everything down to a crawl.