Sign in to follow this  
CarrotCake

Alignment in Thumb Assembly

I'm currently working with a Cortex-M0, which implements a subset of the thumb instruction set.

As a learning exercise, I decided to just implement a "blinky" project in assembly, in which I was ultimately successful, but with an unanswered question.

Apparently there are some instruction alignment requirements, but I don't seem to know about them, or how to find out about them.  Is there a good resource for this?  I'm relatively new to assembly programming, but these intricacies are what tend to hold me up.  My assembler (gcc arm toolchain) would spit out dozens of errors about alignment.  It took me hours of debugging, and lo and behold I throw a single NOP in the code, and everything works.  I'm sure this is one of the "well if you're programming in assembly, you should know about this already", but I'm self-taught and have probably missed out on some of the fundamentals.

Any help is appreciated!

I can't answer your question directly, but I've generally found that a good way to figure out what the assembler expects is to write a trivial application in C that does what you want, then compile it with -S and look at the generated assembly. Probably the directives you need will be revealed by that.

Hello,

I am somewhat in the same case as you.

I give you a link which was useful to me : http://pygmy.utoh.org/riscy/cortex/led-stm32.html

it speaks a little about alignement and directive .thumb

.thumb ; (same as saying '.code 16')

i've adapted this exemple to cortex M0 (stm32F0discovery)

if you need i can put it somewhere.

For the cortex M0 -mcpu=cortex-m0 flag must be added to gcc

I can't answer your question directly, but I've generally found that a good way to figure out what the assembler expects is to write a trivial application in C that does what you want, then compile it with -S and look at the generated assembly. Probably the directives you need will be revealed by that.