43oh

Stellaris Launchpad as a Programmer

Hello all, new to the forum and to the Stellaris Launchpad (EK-LM4F120XL).

I've got a project coming along and soon it will be time to start thinking about making a PCB. It is really a proof of concept that uses some ideas from my research, so it's not expected to go to production or anything. 

My main question is that I'm thinking it must be possible to use the unpopulated row of headers (labeled TCK TMS TDO TDI EXT TXD RXD) to program a standalone LM4F120 chip as it appears that that is how the programming works for the chip that's on the board. So is it as simple as attaching a cable to those Launchpad pins and connecting them to a bare chip? I'm assuming both sides would need power and that they'd need to have common ground.

Furthermore, I'm fairly new to ARM, so coming from 8-bit AVR where the code you write is basically all that goes on the chip, the idea of startup code and functions already present in ROM etc. is a bit confusing. That said, if I buy a few chips new from TI, do I need to do anything special or will I be able to simply program them with code that I have already working on the Launchpad? I run Linux, so my current workflow (a bit hackish) is to compile code with CCS and then load it to the Launchpad with lm4flash.

Finally, it seems the LM4F120H5QR has been superseded by the TM4C1233H6PM. The datasheet for the latter states that they are identical, so I'm assuming I can buy those and all should work fine. Is this true? 

You can use the LaunchPad to program standalone chips that you purchase and install on your own PCB.  There is a how-to at http://processors.wiki.ti.com/index.php/Stellaris_LM4F120_LaunchPad_Debug_How_To