Xtagon

Quadrature Encoder Interface on Launchpad?

I am thinking of using a Stellaris Launchpad (LM4F120XL) as a robot controller. If I had something like this (http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1551) how would I go about interfacing with the quadrature encoders? This TI webpage says "Advanced motion control capability, with up to 16 PWM outputs and two quadrature encoder interfaces" but I cannot find the terms "quadrature encoder" or "QEI" in the Launchpad manual. Am I going to need to learn the gritty details of quadrature encoding and write my own C interface?

I am very new to all this, so a gentle shove in the right direction would be awesome.

That feature is part of motion control peripheral module that is available only at higher class MCUs like LM4F230 or LM4F210 series, while the LM4F120 series like in the Stellaris Launchpad which is a low end version does not have it.

Haven't tried this on the LM4F120 but you should be able to do a software QEI using GPIO interrupts or perhaps the timer capture pins.  

Reading the state of one pin when the other pin transitions will tell you direction.  For example if pin 1 is high when pin 2 goes from high to low, that means either forward or reverse.  If pin 1 were low during the same pin 2 transition that is the opposite direction.  Time difference between edges on either pin should give you velocity. Integrating that to get position usually involves a third pin as an index to help re-zero the position count approximately once per revolution.

Again, haven't done this lately but here is where i would start.

• Setup and enable a GPIO interrupt routine for the rising edges of the phase B pin. 
  • START ISR 1
  • if( read(phase A pin) == high )
    • position++
    • direction = forward
    • velocity = some simple math based on ticks/revolution, time between now and last tick and perhaps size of the wheel. Using a TImer capture here helps get the best resolution on this.
  • else
    • position--