starhawk1426459861

Noob here, looking for education (in all the wrong places?)

OK, not necessarily the best of thread titles, but at least it's honest.

I've ordered the new Stellaris Launchpad. I'd like to know what to expect, what it can do, but in plain English, please. I'm a PC hardware person with a little more than enough electronics knowledge to be dangerous, but absolutely no microcontroller experience -- and almost no *meaningful* programming experience.

What am I wanting to do? Well, I'd like to see if I could build a mini Linux box with it. I'm thinking a few SPI (or I2C if I can find 'em) SRAM chips totaling 128mb and connections to an SD card for memory and storage... I've not worked out the video yet, but it will almost certainly be fairly primitive. I'll be rolling my own Linux almost for sure, but I think I can handle it.

Er... yes, I do want SRAM and not SDRAM -- SDRAM requires that dastardly refresh signal, which would eat up a small amount of CPU power. I know I'm going to need every cycle I can get, so SRAM it is.

I certainly stand to learn a lot in the process of building this thing, if I somehow gather the patience to stick with it ;)

OK... now hack me to bits :wacko:

OK, not necessarily the best of thread titles, but at least it's honest.

I've ordered the new Stellaris Launchpad. I'd like to know what to expect, what it can do, but in plain English, please. I'm a PC hardware person with a little more than enough electronics knowledge to be dangerous, but absolutely no microcontroller experience -- and almost no *meaningful* programming experience.

What am I wanting to do? Well, I'd like to see if I could build a mini Linux box with it. I'm thinking a few SPI (or I2C if I can find 'em) SRAM chips totaling 128mb and connections to an SD card for memory and storage... I've not worked out the video yet, but it will almost certainly be fairly primitive. I'll be rolling my own Linux almost for sure, but I think I can handle it.