43oh

Solar Cell Booster Pack

This is my first attempt at a booster pack design.  The design is inspired by the TI/Element 14 Fuel Tank Booster Pack.  I wanted to improve on a few of the aspects of the Fuel Tank as well as add a few features to it.

Fuel Tank Cons:

• Non-standard pinout.  The I2C pins are not brought out to 9 and 10 as they should be on the BP standard
  • Not solar friendly.  The charging IC on the Fuel Tank supports solar charging, but it's not easy to add it.
  • Battery is in parallel with load.  The battery is always powering the LP, even when charging current is available
  • Not low-power friendly.  The regulators fitted on the board have a PowerSave mode, but it required soldering a resistor to enable it.  Also, LEDs cannot be disabled
  • Fuel Gauge is not configurable for a different sized battery.  The FG IC used requires a new "golden file" to uploaded to the IC to change any LiPo cell parameters (design capacity, etc).

Solar Cell Changes:

• Change I2C pins to comply to BP standard
  • Add DC jack to make connecting solar panel easier
  • Change charging circuit (credit to Adafruit for the charging circuit http://www.adafruit.com/product/390)
  • Add breakouts for the PS and EN pins for both regulators, add jumpers on all LEDs, add the ability reroute I2C (more on that below)
  • Change FG IC to a more configurable one.  BQ27425-G1 is used which uses a generic LiPo impedance curve, and has a configurable design capacity

Solar Cell Cons:

• Use of QFN and BGA IC packages makes it impossible to hand solder
  • More to come...