Sign in to follow this  
OppaErich

New edX course using MSP430

You mean UT601x ? I loved that...I don't know this course but the syllabus looks like this is about basic electronics.

The course consists of seven modules:

• Module 0: Introduction
  • Module 1: The Basics
  • Module 2: Resistors
  • Module 3: Amplifiers
  • Module 4: Capacitors & Filters
  • Module 5: Transistors
  • Module 6: Inductors

Every module consists of a combination of theory-based lectures and lab-based discussions where we apply that module

I subscribed to this a while ago just out of curiosity. My experience with edx courses is great, I've taken 4 or 5 before and am enrolled in a couple others at the moment. It doesn't mean this one will be good for sure, but well, it's a respected school and all that... probably not that interesting for those already experienced with MSP430 or electronics in general, but well, probably good for some.

I am an engineer so I can skip all of those basic topics, but I normally do them anyways to get ideas for the classes I teach.

I will ressurect this thread just to say that the course was quite nice. I have used their method in my classes, which is to take a larger system (e.g. a simple robot) and cover each of its building blocks sequentially during the course so you complete the job at the end; it's quite rewarding and helps keeping students engaged.

It's not a great course if you're intested in learning MSP430 specifically, but that was not the intent of the course. It is good though for any begginer trying to get a grasp of basic electronics concepts that always surround a microcontroller.

Here is the robot I built for the course - you were required to shoot a video of it for grading.