43oh

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Looks like Microsoft is getting started on IoT - so for the .NET programmers - this might be an interesting thing.  I signed up - apparently they're sending out free dev boards - https://www.windowson

I've been reading up all I can on the galileo and its workings, of course just about everything out there so far assumes the default setup with the galileo having the yocto linux distro preinstalled a

There is more information here: http://blogs.windows.com/windows/b/buildingapps/archive/2014/07/11/rolling-out-the-windows-developer-program-for-iot.aspx

I signed up and it does look like they're sending out boards. I'm a C# developer by trade so I actually got started on the Netduino before shifting over to MSP430, etc. I had heard they're were planning a new push on the .NET microframework.

I'm planning to do a session on microcontrollers for my fellow C# coders soon. (They've seen my F5529 based Darth Vader build monitor at work.) If they can get some freebies to get them started in a familiar environment it might be useful.

(Tried to quote @@jpnorair. Anyone else have problems with quote?)

The .NET framework for Linux is Mono. I remember it as being someone's hobby project, but a colleague tells me that Microsoft are now actively supporting this. The .NET microframework is significantly cutdown compared to the full .NET framework (but still has a lot). Strangely the microframework is interpreted compared to the full framework which is JIT compiled. You'd really think that this would be the case where full native compilation would make sense.

I also found it odd that when asked what dev boards you had experience of that no .NET framework stuff like Netduino was mentioned. I know it's not that popular, but you think that's one time it would be on the list.

I was honest, no .NET, no C# experience but I'm in.

Mono ?

Yes: