Sign in to follow this  
jpnorair

Thermistors!

I discovered these things today (well, 9 May 14).

I used a pair of NTC thermistors with 100kOhm @ 25C, 1MOhm @ -20C, in the design of a battery protection circuit.  I've never used a thermistor before.  What have you done with a thermistor?  They are cheap and interesting... I like!

Measuring temp (duh!) in equipment enclosures

Temp monitor for the regulator/charge controller on one of my bikes

LImited temp range tempco cancellation for fixed resistors (there are better ways for wide temp range, but none are cheaper)

Feedback device for a heated box (constant temp environment for a thermocouple cold junction and amp)

The possibilitiies are endless.....

When I am worried about accuracy, I do prefer, at slighty higher price, the integrated temp to current devices or direct digital output devices (like DS18B20), as they tend to be more stable and have tighter specs than thermistors.

They're used in the 3d printers hot ends and heating beds.

In university we used them in wheatstone bridges, if I remember well, it allows the resistance to be approximated to a line. Lot less useful now that it's easy to have a values table in a microcontroller.

airflow and airspeed indication.

eg: to make sure that a fan is cooling a piece of equipment.    so, using two thermistors:  one isolated from the airflow (reading ambient air temp), the other in the fan's airflow.   the two thermistors' resistance difference indicates that the fan properly cools the equipment.

i heard of an airspeed indicator that used two thermistors near heated elements.   again, one in the static air, the other in the moving air.  So here, the moving air cools the heated element, resulting in lower measured resistance than the other thermistor.

airflow and airspeed indication.