mpigsley

Hardware UART & Two Servos

I'm fairly new to specifically MSP430 development, so any help here is appreciated!

I'm trying to send data to and from a Raspberry Pi connected over hardware UART. This I've tested and works. I'm also trying to run two servos on the MSP430 and the basic code I have for them has been tested and also works. 

The problem occurs when I try to put them together as my timer setup must clash somewhere. It seems to me that the serial communication is all set on TA0 while the other timer is set to TA1. I don't understand why this would prevent the UART from sending and receiving.

Edit: I'm using the MSP430G2553 

int main(void){
  WDTCTL = WDTPW + WDTHOLD;                            // Stop watchdog timer
  init_servos();
  init_UART();
  _BIS_SR(GIE);                                        // Enable CPU interrupts

while(1){                                            // Wait for incoming character
    _BIS_SR(LPM0_bits);                                // Enter low poser mode
    if (rxBuffer == 'a') {
      P1OUT |= BIT0;
    }
  }
}

void init_UART() {
  DCOCTL = 0x00;                                       // Set DCOCLK to 1MHz
  BCSCTL1 = CALBC1_1MHZ;
  DCOCTL = CALDCO_1MHZ;
  P1OUT = 0x00;                                        // Initialize all GPIO

P1SEL = UART_TXD + UART_RXD;                         // Timer function for TXD/RXD pins
  P1DIR = UART_TXD + BIT0;                             // TX and LED1 to Output

// Configures Timer_A for full-duplex UART operation
  TA0CCTL0 = OUT;                                      // Set TXD Idle as Mark = '1'
  TA0CCTL1 = SCS + CM1 + CAP + CCIE;                   // Sync, Neg Edge, Capture, Int
  TA0CTL = TASSEL_2 + MC_2;                            // SMCLK, start in continuous mode
}

void init_servos() {
  P2SEL |= BIT0 | BIT1;
  P2DIR |= BIT0 | BIT1;

// Duty Cycle (585 - 675 - 765)
  TA1CCTL0 = OUTMOD_7;                                 // reset/set (0)