RobLewis

MSP430 and Java?

I've dabbled in a lot of languages, but never made it to C or C++. Now, in the course of helping my son pursue a CS degree, I find myself learning Java. 

What, if any, are the options for programming the TI LaunchPads in Java? Opinions? (other than the expected "Java sux" :-(

For the MCU itself I wouldn't bet on anything, I haven't heard if anyone writing a JVM for the msp430 or Tiva. But you could dabble in writing PC client-side software for interfacing with the microcontroller over its UART and visualizing the data, etc. Plus the Energia IDE (a good beginner's dev environment for writing firmware) is itself written in Java, as it's based on the Wiring platform (same as Arduino and similar ones).

Sent from my Galaxy Note II with Tapatalk 4

I'm a C# and Java developer by trade, and I would still say "Java sux"!

I know it's possible to code some ARM microcontrollers on Java, but not tried it myself. I don't think it's possible on the MSP430.

Java has its place.

The places the MSP430 is used wouldn't be it.

Java is a pretty heavyweight language designed for portability and object security, which is really nice in a network delivery, dynamic load situation. Burdensome for a firmware, low RAM situation.

It is impractical to fit JVM into the constraints of the MSP430.  Performance would be abominable if it could be done. Most of the benefits of Java would be lost (good dynamic memory management; robust suite of classes; etc) due to the memory limitations and need for an efficient filesystem.