43oh

Send 10V to home thermostat via internet

Hi everyone, I have a Honeywell thermostat ($40) that can handle some simple remote control access (see pic attached).

post-35565-0-49931600-1389155929_thumb.png

I have also picked up a MSP430 for $5. Looking to control this from my phone.

I have zero experience with anything like this, Hoping to get help here on the forum!

bluehash let me know I'll need a relay board, makes sense, found this on dealextreme for <3$ w/ free shipping....

http://dx.com/p/arduino-5v-relay-module-blue-black-121354

Any reason it wouldn't work?

Will I need some kind of power supply?

Also, whats the cheapest way to go about getting the Launchpad on my home network? (I'm assuming the Launchpad will have an ip address that I can type into a web browser, and some kind of GUI or something on the Launchpad to allow access to the relay?)

RF?

Wfi?

Bluetooth?

My router is close to my thermostat, so Ethernet is an option, but nobody likes wires...

Thanks in advance for any input!

You might get away with using transistors instead of relays, depending on the exact behaviour of the thermostat

+--------+  +--------------------------------------+
| TL8100 |  |        home automation system        |
|        |  |                                      |
|        |  | +12                                  |
|        |  |  |                                   |
|        |  |  +----[100k]--+                      |
|        |  |  |            |                      |
|        |  |  E\           |                      |
|        |  |    \|B        |                      |
|        |  |  PNP|--[10k]--+                      |
|        |  |    /|         C\                     |
|        |  |  C/             \|B                  |
|        |  |  |            NPN|--[1k]-- to MSP430 |
|   X O--------+              /|                   |
|        |  |               E/                     |
|   C O--------+            |                      |