AntanasB

How the heck I should start using CSS?

Hey there all!

I am sadly sad. I am not a newbie in this, i can use the Energia without any problems. But since it is very memory unfriendly, and lacked of some functions i would like to use, i thought switching to the MSP430 true software (CCS) would make a big change. And I am willing to do it, but i just cannot find any information regarding language reference of this. From what i already know, it is C/C++ like, but there are things like pinout declaration and other stuff. Where to find it? It seems like an dead end... 

Dudes, Haalp!

Regards, Antanas.

You're supposed to use registers to access pins, something like:

P1DIR = 255-BIT7; // sets Port1.7 as input, other pins as outputs
P1OUT = BIT1 + BIT2; // sets Port1.1 and Port1.2 high, other output pins low

There are lots of CCS examples on Ti's web site, download some and have a look.

You can also use the Grace tool to setup the I/O and peripherals.

You mean like the official Getting Started with the MSP430 LaunchPad Workshop?

http://processors.wiki.ti.com/index.php/Getting_Started_with_the_MSP430_LaunchPad_Workshop

I went through that workshop many months ago. After completion, I was worse off than when I began it. I was confused, frustrated, and annoyed.The use of CCS may not have been the best choice for the workshop. I gave up on CCS after 3 months of making ZERO progress with it, and went back to Energia 100%.

Something more topical and simplified would be a big help. Small specific tutorials for those of us truly "Getting Started" would likely be welcomed by at least a few of us.

I believe a "Getting Started" workshop should begin with beginners in mind. Otherwise, it isn't really "Getting Started" - it's more of a retrospective repeat lesson, to be visited after the subject has been learned.