Sign in to follow this  
Rei Vilo

[SOLVED] Help! Software PWM for the MSP430F5529

SOLVED! Thanks Energia! Link to solution

I'm using a BoosterPack with PWM in pin 9 = P2_1 @ G2553.

Unfortunately, the MSP430F5529 doesn't feature PWM in pin 9 = P4_2 @ F5529.

How to implement a software PWM?

I guess I need to use a timer-based interrupt, but I have no experience in that field.

This would be very useful to improve compatibility across the BoosterPacks and LaunchPads.

Thank you for your help.

Well, you could set pin 9 as an input, use a hardware pwm pin, and use a jumper from that pin to pin 9. Sure, you loose a pin, but unless your design is pin-heavy, I'm sure you have one to spare.

I usually like to design my boosterpacks so they are reconfigurable with a knife and solder+wire for these scenarios. But rigging it with a jumper wire sharing with another pin is an option... Alternately I have a boosterpack design you may want to make a run of from Seeed or Elecrow. Let me get a link.

Sent from my Galaxy Note II with Tapatalk 4

That said, the technique for hardware-assisted software PWM is to take a timer not currently in use, configure its CCR0 to the max count, CCR1 or 2 or whatever sets your duty cycle, then set an interrupt function for its compare-match and the timer's overflow (these may be different and require 2 different ISR functions, can't remember). Inside those functions you manipulate the pin (P4OUT |= BIT2 or P4OUT &= ~BIT2). Be sure to set the interrupt-enable bit and configure the counting mode & clock source in the TxxCTL register correctly.

Note- these ISRs do not need to mess with the LPM bits.