43oh

The Sub-1GHz BoosterPack for 2013/2014

So as I understand it, the only Sub-1GHz boosterpack available right now is Anaren's AIR CC110L which seems to get a bit of attention (one of the TI'ers used it for a DIY project presented at the Maker Faire back in May, right?).  But there are more sophisticated options out there, including TI's new CC1200 and @@jpnorair has mentioned some other chipsets.  So a refresh on the technology using some of the newer chipsets is in order.

I'm copying from another thread where this inspiration came:

spirilis, on 12 Sept 2013 - 7:47 PM, said:snapback.png

I'd totally love to do something like this at some point, although not sure I'll get to it this year.  QFN soldering is still new territory for me (though with OSHstencils and my reflow skillet, probably doable) and I am a green noob at RF PCB design  :smile: .... although I do have that SA430!  Has to count for something right?

(@@jpnorair 's reply)

I can supply a basic design pretty quickly, the sort of thing that goes to SMA connector. Doing an integrated antenna isn't *really* a big deal in this form factor, but I'm pretty busy with my real work now. I certainly don't have time at the moment to deal with logistics of manufacturing and distribution. If we want to stick with TI, then the CC1200 might be an interesting choice. If we don't care, then ST SPIRIT1 and Semtech SX1276 are both interesting options. Another possibility is to use a CC430, and have it work optionally as a network processor or optionally as direct SPI pass-through to the CC1101 core.

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

SmartRF compatibility is not so trivial.  The 5529 has a ton of RAM and Flash, though.  I would recommend, instead, to support a build for the LP side of things that has the SRF firmware.  If someone