Sign in to follow this  
DarthMessiah15

Very Basic Questions

Looking for someone to offer some basic answers.

I'm a sophomore CoE/CS double major so the coding shouldn't be an issue, I just have a question to how i should fundamentally set up the project i'm going for. basically, I need to make a prototype that will give some type of warning, say an led flashing for a controlled amount of time, then i need it to do some mechanical task, then the inverse of said task. for example, turn a DC motor. my first question, is about the output voltage/current of the board.

1) is it relational to VCC or does it differ by chip and how do I find this information?

2) I guess this is dependent on question one, but for most things like this, would the chip more likely just control some sort of relay or some other device to power whatever i'm wanting to do externally? or is it dependent on how much juice i need to run whatever it is. I'm just kinda curious what's more common practice so that I can design from the ground up correctly.

3)this question is a bit more involved but how difficult would it be to make a GUI for this simple program, and be able to change the variables such as time before each "run." I kinda figure this would involve some external program that generates the C code and compiles it to the chip but as I said, extremely novice at this point. any help would be extremely appreciated.

thanks

CM

Hey CM, I'll try to answer your questions as best I can. So far I've only used MSP430G series, but I think the answers should be relevant to other MSP430's.

1.The output volatage from the port is Vcc at high and ground at low. That seems to be true of most digital chips I've worked with.