43oh

Looking for help designing an MSP powered LED fixture.

Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to this whole thing and I'm trying to complete a project.  Like the title says, I want to create an MSP430 controlled LED fixture.

I'm looking online at different LED's in bulk, bare PCB's and sets of resistors and I'm kind of overwhelmed with the different options.

I was hoping someone here would be able to walk me through the process of selecting the components for this project.

I highly recommend looking into WS2811 LED strips or I think there's a new generation of them (search around for info, I think RobG mentioned them).

There is code for the MSP430 to drive them and they can get very bright, in addition to being RGB LEDs so you can make any kind of mood lighting you like.

I have a "water jug lamp" project currently on my desk at work and the materials to make a high-power ~50W version. These projects of mine include a low cost 2.4GHz Radio transceiver (Nordic nRF24L01+) so you can configure the lamp wirelessly and I have a design (waiting for boards to arrive from the PCB fabricator) for an RF "remote" control to allow you to adjust its color and brightness. All based around the MSP430.

Sent from my Galaxy Note II with Tapatalk

Thanks for the response! I just did a quick google search of that product and it's definitely something I'll look more into.

For the time being though, considering how simple the circuit and concept is,  I really should know how to design a simple LED light system.  

I found a supplier on ebay that will include a 470 ohm resistor with each LED.

I also found bare LED pcb's on alibaba for a pretty good price.  

The problem is I'm not really sure what I need to know in order to create we sturdy and safe fixture or what type of ballast I should use given the number of LEDs and their arrangement. 

Yeah the fixture aspect is interesting. LEDs are points of light by their nature so you need a design that diffuses/disperses the light.