43oh

Timer Capture measurement of Period

Hello all,

I am new to programming in general. I was wondering if you can help me out by explaining a simple concept of timer capture measurement. I am using a launchpad with a msp430g2553. I started out by using the period measurement example from MSP430ware, file msp430g2xx3_ta_21.

When I input a 30Hz square wave signal into P1.2, I get period around 3850 on my watch expression. The period is calculated by subtracting the time of one rising edge from the previous rising edge. Can you help explain this number to me? Does it have to do with overheads? The Timer A is set up with SMCLK at 8MHz. I am ignoring the output PWM (Pin2.1) since I don't care about it.

//  MSP430G2xx3 Demo - Timer_A0, Normal Timer Mode Input Period and Dutycycle
//                     measurement
//  Description: This code example implements input capture in single capture
//  mode using TimerA in normal timer mode. TA1.1 is configured to output PWM
//  of 25% dutycycle, that is used as capture input at TA0.1. TA0.1 is
//  configured as timer input capture that is triggered by both the rising and
//  the falling edges. An external connection between TA1.1 and TA0.1 is
//  required in this example. Rising and Falling edges are captured and the
//  dutycycle is computed. If the measured dutycycle is != 25%, then LED on
//  P1.0 is set.
//
//  ACLK = LFXT1 = 32kHz crystal ; SMCLK = MCLK = 8 MHz;
//
//                 MSP430F51x2
//             -----------------
//         /|\|              XIN|-
//          | |                 | 32kHz
//          --|RST          XOUT|-
//            |                 |
//            |       P1.2/TA0.1|<-- CCI1A <-|
//            |       P2.1/TA1.1|--> CCR1 -->|
//            |             P1.0|--> LED "ON" when dutycycle != 25%

//
//  W. Goh
//  Texas Instruments Inc.
//  March 2012
//  Built with CCS v5.2 and IAR Embedded Workbench Version: 5.40.3