43oh

Hi, 

I'm new in the MSP430 MCU's I have already written app to drive servos and steppers, now I want to clean up the code to make it a library and I was curious about moving to C++ for code clarity and nice object based code.

Because my library will be time critical (I have to use 16MHz to drive 3 steppers and 8 servos at once with customizable stepper speed to reduce servo jitter to zero), my concerns are:

- performance hit?

- RAM usage - anything significant?

- any other not so obvious drawbacks?

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Point is, you're the only one arguing about what is best, and what is not.  My whole stance has been ( going back what now ? 2-3 months ). Be flexible, and use what makes sense.  Of course, if your ex

Again . . .    Being a bad programmer makes you a bad programmer. You and Linus can both agree all you two want, but that does not make either of you right.   C can not do function overloading . .

I think you'll find, at least with the "original" digital guys ( who are still around ) assembly is the real go to language. I find that most of these guys who truly know their stuff, know assembly ve

See these two threads:

Why, why not? http://forum.43oh.com/topic/2808-coding-for-msp430-in-c/

Example of efficient use of C++ templates: http://forum.43oh.com/topic/2358-software-iic-master-in-c-c-class-and-c-template/

I'd say it has its benefits, but might come at a performance and RAM hit too big for the limited resources of an MSP430 if not done carefully.

Plain C++ objects take only a few bytes (2) of extra ram. They do however execute all code on member variables which are rrelative to the object. This is no more slow than local variables, but it's z little slower than global variables.