Sign in to follow this  
zeke

Custom circuits on demand?

I'm just brain storming here so be easy on me. I'm just thinking out loud.

Would there be any interest by the forum members for a custom circuit design service?

What I mean is, you've made yourself a circuit and you've got your code working. Do you now want a circuit board designed for it? Do you want to make more than one? Do you want someone to help you put it together?

I'm interested in exploring the idea here.

I'm an engineer with a lot of spare time on my hands. I'm eager to stay busy and improve my skill set and resume.

What modules would you like to have for your LaunchPad or MSP430 experimentation?

Here's a list of ideas for circuit shields I put together last night:

1. LCD display

2. LED display (7-Segment or AlphaNumeric)

3. A/D inputs

4. Fiber optic interface

5. Serial Communications (UART/I2C/SPI)

6. Temperature sensors

7. Pressure sensors

I was contemplating a main board based upon the MSP439F5438A because it has a crap load of I/O and memory. We can use the LaunchPads or the EZ430 to program and debug it.

We could physically arrange it so that the shields plug into strips of 0.1" spaced pin headers.

Who knows? Maybe we could create our own community hardware project and everyone will beat a path to our door.

What do you think?

Thoughts or reactions?

Speaking only for myself:

I kind of enjoy designing my boards in Eagle, and I already have a service or two to manufacture them. (I'm just a hobbyist, so just a few of each.)

Your ideas on shields sound great, and I would be interested in purchasing at least four of the designs you listed. There are at least two web stores I know of that say shields are "coming soon," but I don't think they really know what the hobby market wants.

Here are my personal comments on the ones you listed:

1. LCD display -- Make sample code available and drive it with a 595 so you only use three pins. These will sell like hotcakes.