Sign in to follow this  
lpdc

Beginner's question : software PWM + Charlieplexing

Hello everyone,

I am a complete beginner with micro controllers and I chose to get started with a Launchpad as its small price made it pretty much risk-free even if I failed.

As a first project, I have set myself the goal to duplicate the following circuit :

http://www.fangletronics.com/2010/02/am ... ndrum.html

The author of this project used a different microcontroller so I thought it would be a nice exercise to try and obtain the same behaviour with a MSP430 included in the Launchpad kit.

Basically, the micro controller drives 2 RBG LEDs and gets imput from 3 potentiometers. A random color is displayed on one of the 2 LEDs and the goal is to match that color on the second LED by adjusting the potentiometers for R, G and B values.

My first though was to use the MSPG2231 as it features the ADC required to read values from the potentiometers. Then I started to count the pins and fell off short 1 pin.

I need 6 pins to drive the 2 RGB LEDs and 3 pins for the potentiometers. This amounts to 9 pins but as far as I can understand, I have only 8 pins available to use on the MSPG2231.

I stumbled accross a website that describes "charlieplexing", according to this website, I could then use only 3 pins to drive my 6 LEDs.

After such a long introduction, my question is : do you think it is possible to achieve my goal by doing both software PWM and charlieplexing at the same time ? I don't really know where to start from and I don't even know if PWM and charlieplexing can even mix together.

I was considering to base the PWM part on the following post :

http://blog.hodgepig.org/2010/09/30/jam-jar-lamp/

The other 2 options I considered are :

*Waiting until a launchpad compatible chip with more pins becomes available (the MSP430G2252 for instance)