43oh

Can I use libraries written for Arduino with Energia?

Hello,

I got a graphics library from

http://www.henningkarlsen.com/electronics/library.php?id=51

and tried to install it with Energia

but I could not compile any sample program (msp430 board nor Stellaris).

Either installing original libraries from Arduino (there it works fine) isnt possible at all ??!?!??

or there is a problem with paths cause libraries at Arduino have to be

installed in another directory (i.e. c:\Arduino\libraries  vs.  c:\Energia\hardware\msp430\libraries)

than in Energia.

Trying to use that graphic library I allways get errors like that:

"bitmapdattype is not declared".

Its also tracking attention that it shows strange combinations of slash and backslash

in the path of the UTFT.h file like this:

c:\energia\hardware\msp430\libraries\UTFT /UTFT.h

Can anybody help?

Thanks a lot (I'm new with that kind of stuff)

Running Arduino libraries on MSP430 or Stellaris will work as long as the libraries do not use anything specific to the chip. e.g. if a library used AVR specific registers then it won't run on the MSP430. If the library however uses only Arduino API's then there is a good chance that it will run on MSP430 or Stellaris without problems.

This library is written to run on multiple platforms and abstracted through a HAL (Hardware Abstraction Layer) for each specific chip. Unfortunately there is no abstraction layer for the MSP430 or Stellaris and you would have to write one yourself.

Hello,