43oh

Wireless Sensor Node with MSPG2553 and 8-pin NRF24L01+ module

This is my first time designing a PCB for MSP430. I really like the NRF24L01+ booster pack but I would like something smaller to use for remote temperature sensors. With that in mind I've designed a 24.5 x 50 mm PCB (2 on a 5x5 cm prototype) featuring MSP430G2553 and an adapter for a 8-pin NRF24L01+ module using essentially the same pinout, with the intention of using the Spirilis library. There's a jack socket to connect a 1-wire sensor (e.g. DS18B20), a 4-pin header to connect a temperature/humidity sensor (SHT22 or similar), a programming header that gives serial access, and 3 other general purpose I/O pins. You could connect a thermistor or LM35 to the jack socket by leaving off the 4.7K pullup resistor on the data pin. Power can be supplied by a CR2032 coin cell or via a mini USB and LDO voltage regulator.

The repository is https://github.com/t0mpr1c3/wisenode although I haven't put up any documentation yet, just the Eagle files. I'm really very new to circuit board design so please if you can see any improvements do leave a comment for me. Thanks!

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

This is my first time designing a PCB for MSP430. I really like the NRF24L01+ booster pack but I would like something smaller to use for remote temperature sensors. With that in mind I've designed a 2

Here's my variation of a wireless sensor node... this was inspired by a need to monitor temperatures throughout the house; I have 6 of these boards from OSHpark I just got today!   http://spirilis.n

The PCBs arrived from Elecrow a couple of days ago and I populated the first one. This may be the first time I have successfully soldered a TSSOP.     This one is configured with a 3-pin SIP head

Posted Images

It's looking good! Quite an impressive circuit for someone new to circuit design!

I had three questions/remarks: