43oh

How to drive multiple LEDs without sacrificing brightness

I want to drive up to 16 LEDs (not in a matrix form) from an MSP430. I've played with an G2211 on a breadboard/Launchpad combination to successfully do something with 6 LEDs, but I need to step up to 16 of them. My background is software development, but I'm new to microcontrollers and my knowledge of electronics is sadly no more than basic.

My requirements are that although normally only a few LEDs will be on, occasionally most of them could be, and they need to be bright enough to seen in daylight, even sunlight. Also the brightness should be relative to the ambient light level so they're not ridiculously bright at nighttime.

I've spent quite a bit of time looking around and found various approaches using driver chips and shift registers, but I get the impression that these are all some form of multiplexing such that the LEDs will not end up being very bright. I'm a real beginner with electronics, so I could well be not fully understand what I'm reading.

Current seems to be the real problem, and while I understand I could use a transistor to drive each LED at maximum current, using discrete components here would make the resulting solution too big. The package (without LEDs) has to be as small as possible. And I have no idea how to handle the relative brightness issue.

I would really appreciate some advice on the best way to do this.

So are you looking to control them individually or just have a set of 16 that are all on but dimmable? Do you have any special needs for input power like a battery? I think that the most simple implementation could be using a higher voltage wall wart and then using a low side transistor to pwm the LEDs to control brightness. Then just a 3.3v LDO to power your micro. If you do want to go low voltage, you could use the same approach with a boost converter or use a shift register which would allow individual control.

Try TLC5940