43oh

Hi all,

I'm wondering with bluehash's upcoming wiki, whether it would be useful to have a section/area/page that documented useful chips that people have used in their MSP430 projects? As I have been meandering through the forums I have come across a whole heap of useful chip references - from static ram, eeproms, smd regulators, rgb chips, temperature, humidity, etc that I think it would be worthwhile to have in stock at home for when i need them for a project.

Further, having references to code (Energia or not) or forum references where they were discussed might be useful. I was wondering if we should start a thread here to gather that information in preparation for the wiki?

The problem with deciding on ICs to have on hand is a) variety and B ) subjectiveness.

The likely hood that you will suddenly need a humidity sensor "on hand" is very subjective. Same with static ram or rgb chips. Unless you do electrical engineering by trade, needing a specific IC in your stock isn't very likely.

And then variety, which version of which chip do you need? A 256 bit eeprom or a 1k eeprom? Go with the smaller cheaper one and get stuck with something too small, or spend more money on the bigger one then end up not using it all?

That is, unlike discreet parts, standard caps, resistors, leds, diodes, inductors or crystals. All of these are pretty much need to have. Maybe a port expander of your communication choice as well (i2c or spi or shift register) just as a general go to.

It is a great idea to have a list of ICs cross referenced to a given project/implementation though.

Its interesting you say that, particularly your discussion around size of eeprom. I did go looking around the sram - 32k vs 64k and found them only cents in difference. So price can't be the reason for choosing one over the other, that would be worthwhile to capture in a wiki entry don't you think?