Sign in to follow this  
geralt1114

MSP430 frequency meter

Hello guys,i have a question for my project im using the msp430g2231 microcontroller and i want to measure frequencies up to 10Mhz.Im new to microcontrollers(not programming),and im not sure how to make the overflow work

void main(void)
{

WDTCTL = WDTPW + WDTHOLD; // stop watchdog timer
BCSCTL1 = CALBC1_1MHZ;          // Set range
DCOCTL = CALDCO_1MHZ;           // Set DCO step + modulation
delay(100);     // delay 100mS until next screen refresh

/*** Timer_A Set-Up ***/
    TA0CCR0 = SampleTuneTime;
    TA0CCTL0 |= CCIE;                       // Interrupt enable
    TA0CTL |= TASSEL_1 + ID_3;              // SMCLK
    TA0CCTL1 |= CCIE + CCIS_0 + CM_1 + CAP; // Interrupt enable, capture select CCIxA, Positive edge, capture mode
    TA0CTL |= TASSEL_1;                     //SMCLK

_BIS_SR(GIE);               // Enter LPM0 with interrupts enabled

while(1)
    {

TA0CTL |= MC0;              // Start timer up mode.Timer counts up to TACCR0
    TA0CTL |= MC1;              // Start timer
    //while(CounterValue != 400); // Wait while CounterValue is not equal to 400
    TA0CTL &= ~MC0;             // Stop timer mode
    TA0CTL &= ~MC1;             // Stop timer

Result >>= 2;               // Divide Result by 4
            calc_freq();

//convert long into frequency
            char buffer[8]= { 0, };
            unsigned long toLCD = Frequency;
       //     int Base = 10;
            itoa(toLCD,buffer);     //convert decimal

lcd_init(); 
              send_string("FREQUENCY IS");
              send_command(0xC0);
              send_string(buffer);
              send_command(0xC8);
              send_string("HZ");

Result = 0;                 // Zero Result
                    CounterValue = 0;           // Zero CounterValue
                    StoredCount = 0;            // Zero StoredCount
                    TA0R = 0;                   // Zero Timer_A0 register
   }
}

#pragma vector=TIMER0_A0_VECTOR