43oh

MSP430 LaunchPad Tachometer.

HI all,

Here is a working prototype of my LaunchPad Spindle Tachometer for my CNC Mill.

The firmware is ever evolving, I am still learning about the MSP430 amidst of my busy work schedule (day job)

Will post more details if anyone wants to know more.

I would like to understand better and learn from this community, hopeful we can have some fun generating some healthy discussion on this.

What it the best and most efficent way to measure RPM?

Currently I have the trigger pin on P2.4, and use TimerA1 to count interval, the interval is then multiplied to get RPM. I have also implemented a running average buffer to even out the results, works well but still jitter a bit.

Attached is the schematic and some code snippets.

int main(int argc, char *argv[]){
CSL_init(); // Activate Grace-generated configuration
P2OUT |= BIT5; //turn IR Led on
while (1){
if(Timer_Capture_Available){
RPS_10x = 327680 / Timer_Capture_Value;
RPS_Buffer[9] = RPS_Buffer[8];
RPS_Buffer[8] = RPS_Buffer[7];
RPS_Buffer[7] = RPS_Buffer[6];
RPS_Buffer[6] = RPS_Buffer[5];
RPS_Buffer[5] = RPS_Buffer[4];
RPS_Buffer[4] = RPS_Buffer[3];
RPS_Buffer[3] = RPS_Buffer[2];
RPS_Buffer[2] = RPS_Buffer[1];
RPS_Buffer[1] = RPS_Buffer[0];
RPS_Buffer[0] = RPS_10x;
RPM = ((RPS_Buffer[0] + RPS_Buffer[1] + RPS_Buffer[2] + RPS_Buffer[3] + RPS_Buffer[4] + RPS_Buffer[5] + RPS_Buffer[6] + RPS_Buffer[7] + RPS_Buffer[8] + RPS_Buffer[9])/10) * 6;
 DisLED(RPM); //Display results
 Timer_Capture_Available = 0;
}
else if (!Timer_Capture_Value){
DisLED(0); // Reset Display to zero.
}

}
}//main

// Functions
void TachTimer_ISR(void){
// Read timer counter value captured
if (!Timer_Capture_Flag){
 Timer_Capture_Value1 = TA1CCR2;
 Timer_Capture_Flag=1;
}
else
{
 Timer_Capture_Value = TA1CCR2 - Timer_Capture_Value1; // get the difference in time value
 Timer_Capture_Flag=0;
 TA1CTL |= TACLR;
 Timer_Capture_Available = 1;
}

} // TachTimerISR
void Timer_OF(void){