43oh

which development tools for a beginner?

Hi everyone,

I am just starting out on the MSP430, I bought a couple of the Launchpads, also the C2000 piccolo one and am waiting for the Stellaris one to arrive. I have done some AVR programming using AVR Studio and GCC and some Arduino programming. I prefer to use a Mac but I do have a Win7 laptop.

My main area of interest is developing software to support Ham Radio projects, for example switching low powered transmitters, controlling frequency synthesisers and other hardware mostly via I2C. I'd like to put the code into the public domain. The focus for that is really to get other hams involved in playing with micro controllers many of who have been put of coding in the past. Mostly because when a lot of Hams write code it is pretty much unreadable by anyone else.

Given the above I am interested in what recommendations you may have for development environments. FWIW I have tried, and failed, 3 times to install the Ti Eclipse based one on my Win7 system. There seem to be files missing in the Ti Windows installable package. Whilst I am happy to program in C, it is not the easiest language for a beginner, so if something easier like Python is available that would be great.

Thanks in advance,

Steve

PS The only Linux device I own is a Rasberry Pi - Linux and I just don't get on, it's been a 15 year love hate relationship

I probably can't offer much, but my Win7 x64 system installed CCS 5.2 without issues. I let it install into C:\ and have seen no problems. I actually have CCS4 installed in parallel 'cause of an older Stellaris board (had to add some shortcuts / lnk's to make it work right) with CCS4, but no licensing issues as of yet. I'm still waiting for my Stellaris Launchpad boards to arrive, but I have older Luminay Micro Stellaris working fine and no code limits I can see.