mbeals

Help me pick linux flavor

I just ordered a new laptop (should be here in about a week), and I need to choose which flavor of linux I'm going to put on it. I've been running Ubuntu since 2006 or so mainly because it was the most laptop hardware friendly at the time. However, it has become too bloated and 'user friendly' for my taste, so I'm contemplating a more streamlined offering.

I'm seriously considering biting the bullet and going with Gentoo or Arch, but I don't know if I have a free weekend to devote to compiling an entire OS from source. I've also been looking at crunchbang, since I am already super familiar with debian.

Anyone have any words of wisdom?

not so much words of wisdom as my own noob and superficial linux experiences. always wanted to like ubuntu but have rarely got on with it, mainly due to older esoteric hardware issues but also as i'm always nervy of distros touching my hard drive and/or messing with the mbr as i'm quite happy with my current windows installation. i like to run from a separate usb drive without a grub on the internal.

have recently been playing with the latest ubuntu with a little more success due to hardware upgrade but know where you are coming from with the bloated comment.

i quite like puppy: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=70855 as a noob can mess with it without fear of buggering up the entire installation or pooter as you boot into and run from ram, referencing a save file for system changes. have considered remastering a small and portable msp430/microcontroller ready iso but have yet to find the time.

maybe try a few different distros on for size: http://www.linuxliveusb.com/en/supported-linuxes

will be following this thread with interest as i'd like to explore linux further and become more comfortable with it.