43oh

Completely clueless and need advice for screen choice.

Hey everyone, I'm completely new to this type of thing and I need a little advice.

My msp430 just got here and my plan is to build a sous vide cooker. I'll need an LCD screen that will show temperature. What is the cheapest screen that I can buy for this project?

Also since this is my first project of this type, if theres a screen I can buy thats only slightly more expensive but easier to work with I'd probably be more interested in that.

Any help is appreciated, thanks guys!

Character LCD's are great and easy to code for and can be purchased on eBay for about $3 for a 3.3v module, but they do take up a lot of pins.

The Nokia 5110 is very nice LCD that you can also find for about $3-4 on ebay and RobG design an adapter shield that would make it extremely easy to work with. Required pin count would be much lower.

cubeberg beat me to it, but:

If you only need to display temperature, there are multi-digit 7-segment led displays available cheap on ebay; downside is a lot of pins used.

A 16x2 character display can display a lot of info using ~6 pins (parallel, ~US$5.00 on ebay), or 2 pins (I2C, ~US$10-15.00 on ebay).

There are several implementation examples throughout the projects section of the forum. Hope this helps!

I finally got my HD44780 working a few weeks back (what a PITA!) but once I did I fell in love. I have also noticed that they are now super cheap on eBay. There are plenty around $2.30/ea with free shipping -- at least for the 5V versions. The cheapest 3.3V ones I saw were about $4.50.

It is difficult to find a multi-digit LED display for less, and in addition you are going to need either a driver chip of some sort. The common driver (I forget the part number offhand) is ridiculously expensive from US distributers ($5 - $10, IIRC) but can be found on eBay in the $1 - $2 range. You can also use shift registers and transistors and drive it from the uC more directly.