Sign in to follow this  
mtlevine0

Advice on purchasing my first scope

I'm an EE undergrad and i've been wanting to purchase a scope for a while, I think I can finally afford a somewhat decent one for hobby use.

I'm debating whether or not to get a used older model from a well known name brand such as Tektronix or if buying a new chinese model is worth any possible risk in quality etc.

I have a price range of roughly $200 to $400 and I'm thinking 100 Mhz bandwidth is enough for any projects I'll be using it for.

What do you guys suggest?

Heres some that I've looked at (ebay links are just for reference):

http://www.saelig.com/PSBE100/PSPC017.htm

http://www.ebay.com/itm/TEKTRONIX-TDS-340-DIGITAL-2-CHANNEL-100MHz-OSCILLOSCOPE-/330726883754?pt=BI_Oscilloscopes&hash=item4d00dbc1aa#ht_1377wt_1141

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ATTEN-ADS1102CA ... 2803wt_955

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Rigol-DS110 ... 1135wt_955

TDS-340 you linked to does not have any expansion cards so you will not be able to hook it up to your computer. In addition, it's CRT so it's large and heavy. For ~$350-$500 you can get TDS 1002B (60MHz) or similar.

Get the Rigol from Saelig. It is a popular proven model from a reputable retailer. Some of the other low cost 'scopes have various firmware glitches that may never be fixed.

The Tek TDS200 and TDS1000 series are very good monochrome LCD DSOs. I wouldn't pay more than about $200 for one due to their age and buffer size (2.5k). They typically go for $250 to $500 on eBay.

The older Tek and HP/Agilent CRT DSOs are quality stuff, but they are old and could fail at any time. Repair may be difficult or impossible, so not recommended.

Thanks for the input I knew the 43OH community would provide some good insight. Some guys r/electronics are also advocating the Rigol scope. At the moment I'm looking at a Tek TDS320 and a Tek TDS360 on Ebay I'll take either if I can get the total with shipping to be less than $200.