Sign in to follow this  
basil4j

Floating and fixed point math capabilities

Hi All,

I'm new to the MSP430 and am looking at using some for a device I am developing. I will be using a handful of MSP430's on modular boards to perform various functions.

Some of the modular boards will be required to perform floating/fixed point multiplication and division.

I am trying to determine if I could get away with using an MSP device without hardware multiply to achieve these goals to keep the cost down.

Here are rough details of 2 of these boards (All FP and int are 16bits)

The calculations are in no particular order.

*Board 1, at 40 Hz, i.e. every 25ms

Receive 2x16bits from SPI sensor

Output 3x16bits serial onto external BUS (format to be defined)

Perform 2x FP/INT divide

Perform 1x FP/INT Multiply

Perform 2x FP/INT subtract

Perform 2x FP/FP divide

Perform 2x FP/FP Multiply

Perform about 6-8 FP =,> or < comparisons

*Board 2, at 400Hz, i.e. every 2.5ms

Receive 16 bits from SPI sensor

Output 2x16bits serial onto external BUS (format to be defined)

Perform 2x FP/INT divide

Perform 1x FP/INT Multiply

Perform 2x FP/INT subtract

Perform 2x FP/FP divide

Perform 4x FP/FP subtract

Perform about 8-10 FP =,> or

I think that's it. Do you think an MSP device at 16Mhz could handle this without hardware multiply?

Small mathematics:

You have 16 million clock cycles per second.

And you have 25 ms time window.

One machine instruction takes 1 to 6 clock cycles (eg, on average pessimistic 4 cycles?)

In our time window processor executes (16e6 * 25e-3 / 4) = 100,000 machine instructions.

And your second example - 10,000 machine instructions in time window.

Your simple math is piece of cake for this brute force ...

Your problem is memory. FP math library consumes lot of flash space. IMHO 4kB flash is minimum, 8kB is better.