Sign in to follow this  
teoah

Weird CCS problem with #define

Hi,

I am a newb (both in C and programmers) with an MSP430G2231 mounted on a LaunchPad. I successfully compiled the "Hello World" program:

#include "msp430g2231.h"

#define 	LEDRED   BIT0;
#define 	DELAY    (0xFFFF);

void main(void) {

WDTCTL = WDTPW + WDTHOLD;	// Stop watchdog timer
P1DIR |= LEDRED; 				// Set P1.0 to output direction
P1OUT &= ~LEDRED;				// Turn off LED

while (1) {

P1OUT ^= LEDRED; // Toggle LED

volatile unsigned int i = DELAY; // Delay
   	while (i != 0) i--;
}
}

Right now, I'm trying to also get the green LED to blink as well, so I have the following code:

#include "msp430g2231.h"

#define    LEDRED   BIT0;
#define    LEDGREEN BIT6;
#define    DELAY    (0xFFFF);

void main(void) {

WDTCTL = WDTPW + WDTHOLD;   // Stop watchdog timer
  P1DIR |= LEDRED + LEDGREEN;             // Set P1.0 to output direction
  P1OUT &= ~(LEDRED + LEDGREEN);            // Turn off LED

while (1) {

P1OUT ^= LEDRED + LEDGREEN; // Toggle LED

while (i != 0) i--;
  }
}

But for some reason, it just won't compile! It tells me "expression has no effect on the three lines with LEDGREEN, and "expected an expression" at the ~(LEDRED + LEDGREEN) line.

The weird thing is that when I use BIT0 and BIT6 instead of LEDRED and LEDGREEN, everything compiles fine! Anyone knows what's going on here?

A few errors, but no worries,I'll walk you through. Before I go ahead,welcome to the Forums!

#define LEDRED BIT0;

#define LEDGREEN BIT6;

#define DELAY (0xFFFF)

Do not use ";" for defines, so get rid of those. Your project will compile fine after you do that.

P1DIR |= LEDRED + LEDGREEN;

Always use parenthesis when you are evaluating more that one math expressions. Its proper technique and will save quite a few headaches later on. This is not an error, but good coding practice.

So the above line will become:

P1DIR |= (LEDRED + LEDGREEN); 

Next point: