Sign in to follow this  
BillBrooks

Help needed with RS232 comms

I'm new to microcontrollers and programming, but even newer to the MSP430. I have a Launch pad and a project involving an RFID reader. I have no clue how to receive a serial string and parse them with the 430. I have an Mbed and can do it with that, but its a little expensive for this project. Any advice would be greatly appreciated

-Bill

Hey Bill,

I have a blog which has some beginner guides. More pertinent, I have a post where I explain how to implement a half-duplex software UART. You can use this as a foundation for the rest of your project, once you have the processor receiving data you can start working processing it.

http://www.msp430launchpad.com/2010/08/half-duplex-software-uart-on-launchpad.html

Hope that helps,

NJC

Hello,

Would the RFID reader happen to be the one from Parallax/Radio Shack? If so, it runs at 2400baud. The LaunchPad can more than handle this.

Check Joby's and NJC's posts, they're wonderful.

:)

Would the RFID reader happen to be the one from Parallax/Radio Shack? If so, it runs at 2400baud. The LaunchPad can more than handle this.

I have a couple of those Parallax readers that I haven't done anything with yet. I'd be very interested if you end up sharing your code/project! ;)

-Doc

I'll be more than happy to share the code. I had the Parallax RFID reader but I killed it somehow. This project will use the RFID 20 from Sparkfun, should be the same code with a higher baud.

NJC,

The code posted on your blog looks a little over my head even though I haven't tried to play with it yet. I will probably have a ton of dumb questions!

Thanks for the help all!

-Bill

I'll be more than happy to share the code. I had the Parallax RFID reader but I killed it somehow. This project will use the RFID 20 from Sparkfun, should be the same code with a higher baud.

-Bill