Jump to content


Photo

CCS for $9.99

ccs

  • Please log in to reply
57 replies to this topic

#1 Rickta59

Rickta59

    Level 4

  • Global Moderators
  • 992 posts
  • LocationEastern NC


Posted 01 September 2016 - 07:35 PM

[NOTE]

Before you bother trying to find this deal,  read this post:

http://forum.43oh.co...se-requiremens/

 

and this TI web page:

http://processors.wi...p/CCSv7_Changes

"Licensing

With the release of Code Composer Studio v7 TI is no longer charging for licenses. You can simply download the tool and start using it. Along with this the end user license agreement has changed to a simple TSPA compatible license."

 

[/NOTE]

 

I didn't see anyone else mention this offer so here it is. Use the link below to buy the promo version of a G2 launchpad bundled with a node locked full version of CCS for only *$9.99:

https://store.ti.com...ion-P50861.aspx

-rick

 

[Edit]

* price is $9.99 + plus shipping

[/Edit]


  • bluehash, dubnet, oPossum and 7 others like this

#2 dubnet

dubnet

    Level 3

  • Members
  • 440 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 01 September 2016 - 07:45 PM

@Rickta59 Nice find! That is a really attractive offer but when I tried to check out it stopped me with the following warning message: Pricing error – Please contact Texas Instruments with questions. :(

#3 Rickta59

Rickta59

    Level 4

  • Global Moderators
  • 992 posts
  • LocationEastern NC


Posted 01 September 2016 - 07:47 PM

sorry .. I didn't actually try it.

 

They are such teasers. :)



#4 Rickta59

Rickta59

    Level 4

  • Global Moderators
  • 992 posts
  • LocationEastern NC


Posted 01 September 2016 - 07:49 PM

I had seen the offer on this page:

 

http://www.ti.com/tool/msp-exp430g2



#5 dubnet

dubnet

    Level 3

  • Members
  • 440 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 01 September 2016 - 07:55 PM

Baited and not even switched... :)

#6 bluehash

bluehash

    Site Admin

  • Administrators
  • 6,428 posts

Posted 01 September 2016 - 08:17 PM

Wowzers! super cool deal.


43oh - MSP430, TivaC, ARM-Sitara and C2000 Discussion, News, Projects and Hacks

 

 


#7 veryalive

veryalive

    Level 1

  • Members
  • 115 posts

Posted 01 September 2016 - 08:43 PM

This is incredibly good news if true.     A full CCS licence for 10 bucks.

 

I just tried placing an order on the TI Store, and it failed.    So I got onto TI chat, explained the situation and got the following reply:

 

--- excerpt ---

Please contact your regional support group via phone so an agent can assist with placing this order for you 
You will need to contact your regional support group. You can locate your region at the attached link.

--------------

 

And some phone numbers were added....   I'll call the number tomorrow morning and see if I can actually purchase sucha a CCS licence.

 

Cheers



#8 PigRider

PigRider

    Noob Class

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 02 September 2016 - 01:24 AM

worked for me, that's $16.98 with shipping. Good deal!



#9 mcenhillk

mcenhillk

    Noob Class

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 September 2016 - 02:23 AM

Just placed the order. For some reason it added a second G2 launchpad and the full $495 version of CCS. I just removed those two and finished the order for $16.98. We'll see if it ships.



#10 spirilis

spirilis

    Level 5

  • Members
  • 2,996 posts


Posted 02 September 2016 - 02:36 AM

That might be TI's way of admitting that the money they spent on the msp430-elf-gcc port was an epic waste, so they should just give away the TI MSP430 compiler for free (like they already do with the TI optimizing ARM compiler) and get it overwith.


I made some 43oh Store gadgets

Also see my Tindie store


#11 PigRider

PigRider

    Noob Class

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 02 September 2016 - 03:02 AM

I've never had money to buy such a license as a someone who only plays around with MCUs as a hobby. How does this node license work if for example my laptop breaks? Can I transfer the license to a new laptop/pc?

#12 Rickta59

Rickta59

    Level 4

  • Global Moderators
  • 992 posts
  • LocationEastern NC


Posted 02 September 2016 - 03:23 AM

Yes there is a page on the TI site to manage the node if you need to switch. I've switched 2 times in the last 4 years.

#13 veryalive

veryalive

    Level 1

  • Members
  • 115 posts

Posted 02 September 2016 - 03:49 AM

....  and I notice on the TI  WIKI  for CCS licencing that the node-locked licence allows use on 2 (two) registered machines:

 

>>>>>   QUESTION - is this indeed true?

 

Cheers

 

 

======>>    copied off that page...

 

http://processors.wi...Locked_Licenses

Node Locked Licenses

Node locked licenses are tied to a particular machine.  You can use all of the features of CCS but you can only use them on the machines noted in the license file.  The license file allows you to specify 2 MAC addresses.  A MAC address is a unique identifier in network adapter.  Most new machines have multiple of these.

Node locked licenses must be purchased from TI or one of our distributors.



#14 greeeg

greeeg

    Level 3

  • Members
  • 556 posts
  • LocationAustralia


Posted 02 September 2016 - 05:58 AM

@veryalive Yes.

 

Take a look a little further down. The single user license can be installed on up to two PCs.

Attached File  CCS_licence.PNG   33.38KB   10 downloads


Personal website: http://greg.so Just starting up. :D

#15 hlipka

hlipka

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts

Posted 02 September 2016 - 07:01 AM

I just ordered. The store added two additional line items (for the LP and the CCS) to the shopping cart, but the total amount was still 16.98. It seems as if the promo item is just a bundle.



#16 bluehash

bluehash

    Site Admin

  • Administrators
  • 6,428 posts

Posted 02 September 2016 - 12:20 PM

This is incredibly good news if true.     A full CCS licence for 10 bucks.

 

I just tried placing an order on the TI Store, and it failed.    So I got onto TI chat, explained the situation and got the following reply:

 

--- excerpt ---

Please contact your regional support group via phone so an agent can assist with placing this order for you 
You will need to contact your regional support group. You can locate your region at the attached link.

--------------

 

And some phone numbers were added....   I'll call the number tomorrow morning and see if I can actually purchase sucha a CCS licence.

 

Cheers

Any luck. Maybe I can help?


43oh - MSP430, TivaC, ARM-Sitara and C2000 Discussion, News, Projects and Hacks

 

 


#17 veryalive

veryalive

    Level 1

  • Members
  • 115 posts

Posted 02 September 2016 - 01:07 PM

@bluehash
Thanks for the offer, but I sorted it out and placed my order. In fact, as someone already mentioned, I just edited away the full-priced CCS and it went through.
While I was at the store, I ordered an MSP430 with 4 24bit sigma- delta ADC channels (MSP430i2041pw 28 pin tssop).

A big thanks to the forum folks!

Cheers



#18 Rickta59

Rickta59

    Level 4

  • Global Moderators
  • 992 posts
  • LocationEastern NC


Posted 02 September 2016 - 02:55 PM

I sent an email to TI here is the response I got back:

 

"This promo isn't too good to be true! It just looks like there were some code pushes that messed with orderable bundles of this nature. The TI store team has fixed this issue and it should be orderable now. :)"

 

-enjoy



#19 yyrkoon

yyrkoon

    Level 4

  • Members
  • 1,163 posts
  • LocationArizona


Posted 02 September 2016 - 05:52 PM

so, seeing as most, if not all of TI's dev boards are free to be used with CCS, without restrictions( as far as I know ). What's the big deal here ? The msp430 launchpad, and I do believe even the Beaglebone, etc.

 

Also, wth does node locked mean ? heh.


I'm an eye-for-an-eye, tooth-for-a-tooth kind of guy.  -  So you support a system that would leave everyone blind and toothless. -  Not everyone. Just the bad guys.

Youtube channel  Blog


#20 chicken

chicken

    Level 4

  • Members
  • 832 posts

Posted 02 September 2016 - 06:56 PM

The MSP430 compiler was limited to 16KB of compiled code. Not a big deal in many projects, but definitely a barrier for more complex projects. Especially given the newer LaunchPads having MCUs with more memory than that.

 

Node locked means that the license key is tied to a machine. I think it's based on MAC address.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: ccs

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users