AndreL

REALLY? main() not found ? MSP432 Launchpad

7 posts in this topic

Everyone,

I am new to the Energia platform. I am a professional embedded developer, so rarely use Arduino like tools, well never :) Unless I am trying to teach someone how to get started. That said, I have a project that I was coding in TI Code Studio for a client, then I thought on this next project, much simpler, I would use Energia, so they could actually make changes to it -- 

Anyway, I downloaded the Energia ZIP latest, there is no installer, so unzipped into directory. I then set it up, board selected MSP432 Launchpad, then started trying examples. Everything works perfectly.

However, when I take ANY project, blink, you name it and save as and place into another directory, ANYWHERE -- then re-compile, I get:

C:\Users\Andre\AppData\Local\Energia15\packages\energia\hardware\msp432\1.3.3\cores\msp432\gnu/targets/arm/rtsv7M/lib/boot.am4fg(startup.om4fg): In function `startupC':

/db/vtree/library/trees/zumaprod/zumaprod-n06/exports/tirtos_full_2_20_00_06/products/bios_6_46_00_23/packages/gnu/targets/arm/rtsv7M/startup.c:76: undefined reference to `main'

collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status

exit status 1
Error compiling for board LaunchPad w/ msp432 EMT (48MHz).

In other words, the linker can't find main() -- so I am thinking, someone HARD coded a path somewhere and at this point, I can't save anything and then run it. Currently my work around is:

1. Open any example project, compile, upload, test it, works.
2. Take my source and copy into IDE, then compile, upload, it works.
3. IF I then try to save, I get read only, since the examples are flagged read-only, thus I save as another name, in a number of directories, no matter what, THEN when I try to compile I always get:

C:\Users\Andre\AppData\Local\Energia15\packages\energia\hardware\msp432\1.3.3\cores\msp432\gnu/targets/arm/rtsv7M/lib/boot.am4fg(startup.om4fg): In function `startupC':