Sterny

Questions on SFP transceivers in hobbyist projects.

I work in the storage industry, and my shop has a large amount of Fibre Channel and Gigabit Ethernet SFPs that are getting replaced and many are getting scrapped.  I was working in the lab today and started wondering if any could be adapted in someway to get a couple MCU dev boards talking.

I did manage to find a datasheet after some quick googling - http://www.avagotech.com/docs/AV02-0671EN

So it's clear to me that at my particular stage in learning, interfacing with the board is beyond my capability.  But as I continue my education, I think at some point I'd like to take a stab at it.

I was wondering:

1.  Have you come across any projects or libraries which attempt to interface older SFPs with more modern MCU dev boards?

2.  What are your general thoughts about this?  Is this a fools errand? I understand it's not very practical, but I thought it would be pretty cool to get two MCUs talking to each other and being able to dig deep in how it's actually accomplished.  

Working in the data storage industry, I'm used to looking at FC analyzer traces and working problems within the protocol, and dump data from the end device products.  But as I get more and more into the actual electronics involved, I start trying to come up with different avenues of exploration.

Thanks for reading!

Regards,

Sterny

Hi @@Sterny,

In my opinion, this is not a fool's errand. Just keep this in mind. You can use SFP modules wherever you might use an optocoupler.

I personally have integrated SFPs into a large scale data recorder system for the seismic industry. I had to attached them to large FPGAs.  The interface between the SFP module and the FPGA was a high speed LVDS bus that operated in the 3V range. 

Additionally, there is an I2C interface on every SFP module. It's the Digital Diagnostic Interface and programming port. You can get a ton of data out of it. Check out a document called SFF-8472 for more details.