• Announcements

• bluehash

Forum Upgrade   03/11/2017

Hello Everyone, Thanks for being patient while the forums were being fixed and upgraded. Please see details and report issues in this thread. Thanks!
Roger

Serial Monitor/Serial.print() issue

19 posts in this topic

Hello I am new to Energia but I have done a little in Arduino. I can not get the serail monitor to display anything. My sketch uploads and runs.(I know it is runing because part of code blinks the LED's) but nothing prints to the serail monitor. I am using 0101e0011 with a 430 launch pad with 2553 on a windows 8 box.( I hope I am posting this in the right place)

void setup()
{
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(P1_6,OUTPUT);//green
  pinMode(P1_0,OUTPUT);//red
}

void loop()
{
  digitalWrite(P1_6,HIGH);
  digitalWrite(P1_0,LOW);
  Serial.print("Start Loop");
  delay(1000);
  digitalWrite(P1_6,LOW);
  digitalWrite(P1_0,HIGH);
  Serial.print("End of Loop");
  delay(1000);

}

If you have not already done so then you will have to adjust the jumpers on J3. Depending on which version you will have to cross connect RX/TX (v1.4) or place them horizontal (v1.5). For v1.5 the PCB has instructions for how to place the jumpers for hardware vs software UART.

See detailed pictures on the following page: http://energia.nu/Guide_MSP430LaunchPad.html

Make sure that you are referencing the pictures for v1.4 or v1.5 with MSP430G2553.

manhdan and Roger like this

I've placed the jumpers horizontal already but I cannot see anything in the serial monitor windows. please help!!!!!!

I'm using lauchpad v1.5 with msp430g2553 and this is my code

void setup()

{

Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop()

{

Serial.println("abc");

delay(100);

}

I've placed the jumpers horizontal already but I cannot see anything in the serial monitor windows. please help!!!!!!

I'm using lauchpad v1.5 with msp430g2553 and this is my code

void setup()

{

Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop()

{