Markers

Problems with Energia on MSP430 LaunchPad

Hi!  I'm a newbie just starting out with a MSP-EXP430G2 LaunchPad running with an M430G2553 chip.  I am trying to load Examples from the Energia IDE but each time I attempt to compile or upload the code I get an error:

msp430-g++: error: <name>\AppData\Local\Energia15\packages\energia\tools\msp430-gcc\4.6.5/include: No such file or directory

exit status 1
Error compiling for board MSP-EXP430G2 w/ MSP430G2553.

I am running a Win 10 64 laptop.  I have selected the correct Board (MSP-EXP430G2 w/ M430G2553) from the Tools menu and updated the software.

Can someone please tell me where I am going wrong.

Many thanks in anticipation!

Many thanks Fmilburn!  I think there is a space in my <name> - I will move everything to another directory and try again.

Many thanks.

Hi Fmilburn.  The various Energia folders in <name>\AppData\Local\Energia15\packages\energia\tools\msp430-gcc\ .... were set up automatically when I installed Energia.  How do I move all the files to another location?

Thanks.

Keep it simple - just edit the <name> folder if that's the one with a space in it.  Over the years I've learned to keep names as close as possible to the old DOS naming standards, as many developer tools are not always forgiving of long names, or other naming issues most of us have forgotten ever existed...

Fixing the folder name would be far, far less complex than moving all of the Energia files, which would likely introduce other errors.

On 12/5/2017 at 4:51 PM, NurseBob said:

Keep it simple - just edit the <name> folder if that's the one with a space in it.  Over the years I've learned to keep names as close as possible to the old DOS naming standards, as many developer tools are not always forgiving of long names, or other naming issues most of us have forgotten ever existed...

Fixing the folder name would be far, far less complex than moving all of the Energia files, which would likely introduce other errors.